SOTD, I Will Always Love You – Dolly Parton

“But this song is by Whitney Houston?”, I hear you all cry. No. Contrary to popular belief, Dolly Parton wrote and originally performed this song as Miss Mona for the 1982 comedy musical film The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, and if I may be so bold, sang the best version. It shows that you don’t have to be loud to prove a point. Carrie Underwood did an arrangement of this song during the Country to Country concert I was fortunate enough to attend at the London O2 arena back in March; Carrie’s version was almost a mix of Whitney diva and Dolly passion, perfect for Carrie’s personality. I’m singing this song – not the Dolly version, not the Whitney version, not the Carrie version, but my version – at a gig in Cambridge on Friday, so I thought I would share with you all the wonder that is Miss Dolly.

Go and watch the film, it’s incredible.

“You know, it’s always a business doing pleasure with you, Charlie” – Miss Mona

Leave a comment